Firefighter of the year

Past Firefighter
of the Year
2015 Bernardo Sobrino
2014 Mark Kapuscinski
2013 Robert Lighthall
2012 Scott Pritchard
2011 Eric Koproski
2010 Anthony Sterio
2009 Dan Pritchard
2008 Brian Katzman
2007 Mike Hagenmayer
2006 Jesse Weigand
2005 Tim Pritchard
2004 Joe Susino
2003 Greg Herrmann
2002 Eric Mills
2001 Robert P McCaffrey
2000 Margaret Beers
1999 Barry Pritchard
1998 Judy Baldwin
1997 Greg Herrmann
1996 Doug Graham
1995 Bob Graham
1994 Norman G Mills
1993 Keith Mayotte
1992 Jim Randall
1991 Scott Pritchard
1990 Brad Beers
1989 John Damiano
1988 Norm J. Mills
1987 Randy Hall
1986 Rick Batchelor
1985 Dan Pritchard
1984 Scott Thompson

Oswego Elks Firefighter
of the year

2013 Brian Katzman
2009 Scott Pritchard
2005 Greg Herrmann
2001 Bob McCaffrey

2016 Firefighter of the Year
Lieutenant Anthony Bivens

Notes from Chief Greg Herrmann,

Now comes the time in our program, that I, as Chief, have the opportunity to recognize one active member who has shown dedication and perseverance, and gone above and beyond what is expected of a regular firefighter during the last year.  The decision to recognize just one person is never an easy one, as so many people fit the bill.  This years recipient is sometimes a little out spoken but has done many extra things for the department this year.

This year’s recipient joined our department in July, 2014. In 2016 he responded to 207 alarms (32%), 10 work details and 32 different trainings and drills. He has completed Firefighter 1 (91 hours), Firefighter Survival (12 hours), Strategy and Tactics for the initial company officer (16 hours), Scott SCBA maintenance specialist (12 hours), Apparatus Pump Operator (28 hours) and just recently passed his practical skills and is awaiting results on his written test for NYS EMT (190 hours). He was a participant in the Central NY 9/11 Stair Climb. He is an Interior SCBA qualified firefighter, and is starting his 2nd year as a Lieutenant in our department.

This person has taken the initiative to build a smoke and fire training prop used to educate people on fire and smoke flow during a house fire. He is the project leader for our use of the iAuditor software station wide helping us complete monthly truck and equipment checks and document everything necessary. He is leading our most recent project of a new Fitness Center for members to use at the station.

Without further ado, it gives me great pleasure to announce to you the 2016 Firefighter of the Year – Anthony Bivens.

Oswego Town Volunteers - Neighbors helping Neighbors
Proudly serving the resident of the Town of Oswego and neighboring communities for over 25 years.